Me unemployed in Calgary? That's unpossible!
July 19, 2007 8:58 PM   Subscribe

What should I be doing to find a job in Calgary's supposedly "hot" economy? I just finished a Master's degree in the social sciences (interdisciplinary, but focused mostly on anthropology of science) and my job hunt has been terribly unsuccessful so far. Are there career opportunities I'm not seeing? Am I out of luck unless I'm an IT person or petroleum engineer?

After much thought I find myself looking for a job in Calgary (I have family here), which everyone seems to be saying is undergoing tremendous growth. Still, the pickings seem slim from where I stand. There are occasionally job postings on my undergrad uni careers website that look good, but I have little substantial work experience, and have not gotten an interview in my month or so of trying. I have a varied and (I think) interesting academic background, which I think could be of use in fields like marketing, product development/design, or policy/government relations. I've been told that I'm a strong writer, and I think I have a talent for research. I'd love to work at a newspaper or magazine, but it looks like a tough area to get into, especially because I don't have a strong background in journalism. (I have one published piece in the local free city paper.) I'm about to start applying to burger joints and the like, because funds are running low, but I feel like there is some brilliant opportunity out there that will pop up the moment I start training at Burger King.

Is there anywhere else I should be looking? What's the best way to present a social science background in a city that has tons of oil money flowing around? Should I be cold-calling CEOs and telling them they need someone like me? Am I out of luck unless I know how to put in a pipeline, or serve the coffee of someone who does? Help!
posted by mariokrat to Work & Money (10 answers total)