My boss/employer has been avoiding me for a month in regards to my benefits. I've been a full timer for 3 months without any benefits.
July 6, 2007 12:00 PM   Subscribe

My boss/employer has been dodging me for a month in regards to my benefits & raise. How can I get him to do his job before I quit while walking out the door? I have been working full time for 3 months and I have not been offered ANY benefits even though I requested a meeting with him four times. Is there anything legal I can use to my advantage?

For the past 6 months, I have been working for a real estate development firm. I started out as a part timer (26) hours and then moved up to 34+ (full time) in the past three months.

I have not been offered any benefits. I requested to meet with the boss so I can go over my benefits and a raise but he has neglected me for the past four weeks and I am getting fed up. Every time I try to meet with him, he tells me he is busy and he leaves the office or spends the rest of the day locked in his office talking on the phone.

Is there anything law-related I can use to my advantage in regards to this matter? I thought benefits were to be offered to full time employees right away. So far its been 3 months and I received absolutely nothing.

Thank you in advance
posted by cheero to Law & Government (17 answers total)

What country and state/province/region do you live in?
posted by alms at 12:02 PM on July 6, 2007

What state are you in? How many employees are at the firm? Do other full-time employees receieve benefits? When you say "I thought benefits were to be offered to full time employees right away," do you mean that you were told this by someone, or that you just assumed it?
posted by scody at 12:02 PM on July 6, 2007

Sorry everyone,

I live in Boston, Massachusetts, USA.
posted by cheero at 12:04 PM on July 6, 2007

Everyone at the company who works full time has been offered benefits. We have more than 15 employees.