Help, I have OS X Finder Rage.
July 2, 2007 4:13 PM   Subscribe

I hate the OS X Finder. Is there anything free and better for my Mac Powerbook?

I've been using this machine for a couple years now. I'm not looking for a smart launcher, I love my QuickSilver. I just want to browse my folders hierarchically, see file types and sizes easily, maybe even have columns size for filename correctly. It would be great if this program replaced the native OS X file/save dialog. When I'm saving something five folders deep I'd like to see a visual map of where I am, without filling my screen with columns.

The Finder is one of the last things that's slowing me down on this machine. I could rant and rave for hours about the Finder, but please just understand I gave this thing a chance.

Oh yeah, and I don't want to pay.
posted by Area Control to Computers & Internet (16 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

The one that is coming-up in Leopard is considerably better. I know you don't want to pay, and I'm just as interested in finding an alternative, but from what I've seen of the new OS I think I'll hold out until it's released.
posted by purephase at 4:19 PM on July 2, 2007

Here's a comparison of 10 Finder replacements. Some free, some not.
posted by The Deej at 4:23 PM on July 2, 2007 [3 favorites]

Cocoatech Path Finder is the most well-developed file management tool for OSX. But in my opinion it's not great. There's something of an improvement over Finder itself, but it still lacks some basic integration into the rest of the OSX system that would make it a worthwhile replacement.

You're not the only person who wants FTFF, but not much serious development has gone into the problem.

"It would be great if this program replaced the native OS X file/save dialog."

That'd be neat, but as far as I know no such thing has been developed.
posted by majick at 4:23 PM on July 2, 2007