The New York Pass: any experiences / cautions / advice?
June 19, 2007 3:08 AM   Subscribe

Have you used the New York Pass? Any advice, especially any scheduling or usage strategies that worked or didn't work for you? Any aspect of the experience that wasn't as advertised? Anything you wish you'd done differently?

I'm a NYC resident and sometime soon I'll be doing the seven-day New York Pass. Can't afford a vacation elsewhere so I'm just taking a week to run around being a tourist, which I never get to do. I have a tentative plan for the week (it's below, but feel free to ignore it if you just have a general comment to make about the pass).

My plan is dense but workable for somebody who has no other tourist-ambitions for the week, knows the subway by heart, and will pack her lunches. I can always scale back if I feel like it (backstage tours would be the first to go in that case).

You can repeat things once a day, so I'll do one of the four different Circle Line rides every morning or evening because I love those. I'll skip the things that deserve long visits and are cheap anyway, like the zoos & gardens. And I'll avoid the museums' free days.

SEVEN DAYS, WITH APPROX. HOURS INCL. TRANSIT TO THE NEXT THING:
[weekday] -- circle line 2 -- tv/radio museum 3 -- guggenheim & whitney 5+
[weekday] -- circle line 3 -- natural history museum 4+ -- two backstage tours 3
[weekday] -- circle line 4 -- intrepid museum 2 -- two backstage tours 4
[weekday] -- circle line 2 -- empire state & skyride 3 -- three backstage tours
[weekday] -- circle line 3 -- liberty & ellis islands 4 -- empire state & skyride 2
[weekend day] -- circle line 3 -- museum of the moving image [queens] 4 -- science center [queens] 3
[weekend day] -- circle line 3 -- ny aquarium [at coney island] 3 -- brooklyn museum 4+
posted by sparrows to Travel & Transportation around New York, NY (13 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite