Realtor Home Invasion
April 26, 2007 6:40 AM   Subscribe

I caught the estate agent, who is handling the sale of the apartment I have just been evicted from, snooping through my stuff.

I have been making a point of going out since I find sitting there while people look at our place awkward. Today I came home while the guy was still there and he was rifling through some of my work papers that I had been working on. Nothing critical but still I won't be doing that anymore. However, this man has keys to our place and no respect for our privacy. I'll be away for 2 weeks soon. What can I do about it?
posted by srboisvert to Home & Garden (18 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I'd set up a nanny cam and tell him about it.
posted by OmieWise at 6:48 AM on April 26, 2007

Ask on the uk.legal.moderated newsgroup.
posted by grouse at 6:52 AM on April 26, 2007

Change your locks before you leave. You have been evicted but you are not out yet. I'm no lawyer but as a tenant you have a right to privacy. If he wants to show people around he needs your permission. When renting I never let either my landlords or estate agents into my house while I wasn't there.

Go to citizens advice and see what they say.
posted by twistedonion at 7:10 AM on April 26, 2007