Reviews of the Barbecook Oyster?
April 13, 2007 11:51 AM   Subscribe

Barbeque season is soon upon us (in the U.S., anyway), and I need a grill -- charcoal, not gas. I'm leaning toward the classic Weber kettle, but I'm intrigued by the Barbecook Oyster. Anyone have experience with it, and know where I might find it in the States other than directly through the manufacturer's site?

The Weber kettles have a hinged grate, which is ideal for adding or rearranging coals. The Oyster doesn't. But I dig the Oyster's built-in chimney starter and funky water disposal system. And it looks really sweet. I just can't find much about it other than this positive review.
posted by schoolgirl report to Food & Drink (11 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite
 
I hate any grill that makes it difficult to get a nice searing direct heat, something that is against the Weber "philosophy," and also, it appears, that of the Barbecook Oyster which only has a single grill height. Indirect heat is all fine and good for some things, but not when I want a nice steak that's pink in the middle and nice and brown and crusty on the outside.

That said, I don't really have a suggestion for the perfect grill. I have some big texas-style peice of junk I got at Lowes. The coal holder can be raised and lowered, and it's big enough that I can keep a small bed of glowing coals at one end and slow smoke a couple plates of spare ribs or a big brisket at the far end. It's been good enough for me for the past 4 seasons or so, but its starting to get a little rickety and rusty.
posted by Good Brain at 12:10 PM on April 13, 2007


My buddy swears by his Big Green Egg. Previously discussed here.
posted by wsg at 12:12 PM on April 13, 2007


Actually, from the video on the Barbecook site it appears the grill height is adjustable to a certain extent.
posted by schoolgirl report at 12:16 PM on April 13, 2007


Their site says it has one cooking height. Maybe I'm misinterpreting that.
posted by Good Brain at 12:27 PM on April 13, 2007


I second the Big Green Egg (http://www.biggreenegg.com/). Got one last year and its the best charcoal grill I've ever had. Makes one hell of a smoker too as it retains heat like a champ and its pretty easy to control temperature. They're not the least expensive grills on the market, but you'd be hard pressed to find a better one.
posted by tundro at 12:27 PM on April 13, 2007


I third the Big Green Egg, we have made some of tastiest damn meat in the world on that thing. You can really control the temperature well, enough that we did the 12 hour, 250 degree slow smoke thing and it turned out perfectly.
posted by stormygrey at 12:50 PM on April 13, 2007


WTF does the Big Green Egg site deny access to non-US or Canada IPs?

I'm looking for the same thing in the UK and the only large bbqs I can find are gas, most frustrating!
posted by hardcode at 1:04 PM on April 13, 2007


I swear by my Cajun grill. Huge cooking surface, split grill, and you can raise and lower the coals. I also have the side firebox attachment for smoking and have made some pretty mean pulled pork using it.

I've used the green egg before and was impressed, but found the surface are just too small in party situations.

Sorry, can't help with the original question, but that grill does seem a bit more gimmicky than innovative to me.
posted by dchase at 1:36 PM on April 13, 2007


Both the Egg and the Cajun would be good options -- though I agree the Egg's surface looks too small -- but they're both rather pricey. I'm looking in the sub-$300 range, so the Weber and Oyster fit that bill.

The Oyster is a bit gimmicky, I suppose, and I will admit I'm drawn to its looks. Useful gimmicks, though. I'd be buying a chimney starter anyway, so if one is built in, bonus.
posted by schoolgirl report at 2:21 PM on April 13, 2007


3 words - big green egg. you will pay more up front, but cost over time is significantly less. your $300 grill will likely be done in 4-5 years, you egg will still be pumping out the charcoal goodness when your kids graduate college.
posted by fumbducker at 9:30 PM on April 13, 2007


Barbecook? Them are some fancy lookin' and 'spensive grills. Dayum purty!

The Weber "philosophy" is that the Weber Kettle is able to cook both directly and indirectly. A versatile and perfect cooking machine.

The Green Egg is a fine grill, kinda 'spensive too. Weber is the best bang for the buck.

Also check out the Weber Performer if you are lookin' at charcoal grills in the $200+ market place.

http://weber.com/bbq/pub/grill/2005/charcoal/cg_p.aspx

You won't find a better company for quality and customer service in any category!
posted by 4Lnqvv at 11:37 PM on April 13, 2007


« Older Google vs. Opera   |   How do I reverse engineer a smell? Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.