Shoo Pink Eye Dont Bother Me
April 1, 2007 8:14 AM   Subscribe

Is pink eye contagious if no symptoms are present?

I currently have pink eye. My girlfriend figures she does too and that it is just incubating within her at the moment (no symptoms)... I have no idea if she actually DOES have it, but if she DID, would she be contagious without symptoms?
posted by Satapher to Health & Fitness (9 answers total)

There are different kinds of pink eye.

See your doctor for appropriate diagnosis and treatment of yourself.

Do not, under any circumstances, share any eye drops with your girlfriend, or any other people.

I am not a doctor.
posted by bilabial at 9:00 AM on April 1, 2007

Response by poster: I have viral (as opposed to bacterial) pink eye caused by a bad cold/sore throat
posted by Satapher at 9:05 AM on April 1, 2007

Response by poster: Oh, Ive been to the doctor and have medicine etc... mostly trying to figure out if my symptom-less girlfriend should be worried about infecting other people
posted by Satapher at 9:07 AM on April 1, 2007

From babycenter.com's info on pinkeye, I think she is fine.

They say that kids with viral as opposed to bacterial conjunctivitis can go back to school. So, since yours was viral, and she doesn't even know for sure if she has it, I would say she's got nothing to worry about.
posted by selfmedicating at 9:53 AM on April 1, 2007

What a coincidence! I have viral conjunctivitis, too. Yesterday, I asked my physician if it was contagious, and he told me that as far as the cold virus causing it is contagious, the conjunctivitis is. He also said that the conjunctivitis was the way that my body reacted to this particular cold virus and that if someone else had the same virus, they may not have conjunctivitis. So all in all, I think your girlfriend is ok. However, you should not share any towels or pillowcases until you are all better, and of course don't share any eyedrops.
posted by MeetMegan at 10:50 AM on April 1, 2007