Maps vs. GPS - Choosing High Tech or Low Tech Travel
March 27, 2007 3:02 PM   Subscribe

Roadtrip technology. Which would you prefer, high-tech solutions (web-enabled phone/Palm, laptop, GPS) or low-tech solutions (maps, AAA Triptiks, GoogleMaps printouts) or some combination?

I'm embarking on a bit of a road trip soon, and I'm trying to come to a conclusion about technology and what I want to schlep along and whether or not it's worthwhile to pay the premium for in-car GPS to the rental agency and so forth. I'm a map nerd, and the more detail the better, and I love having a paper map that I can take into a diner and pour over as I drink some coffee. On the other hand, I'm also a tech nerd, and the idea of a GPS that can say "Turn right in 50 yards" gives peace of mind, but I fear a situation in which a GPS put a friend in the parking lot of a KMart when they were aiming for the (easy to find) Pittsburgh airport.

If you were driving across four states through major metropolitan areas and making a variety of stops in unfamiliar places, what directional technology would you use? How would you combine options to have the best coverage and least opportunity for hair-rending moments of "where in blue blazes am I?!?!?!"
posted by Dreama to Travel & Transportation (28 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

GPS is great for "where exactly am I right this second," to correlate with a paper map, even if you don't use its navigation feature. It's also great for detouring around bad traffic. I've had it in my car for about two years, and I just used it yesterday on my way home from work to detour around an accident that had closed a major road I take all the time. Navigate / Home / Avoid Road / select road where the accident was... and it detoured me through back streets I'd never been on before to get me on the highway a different way. Insanely useful.