Can our landlord kick us out before the lease starts?
March 26, 2007 12:42 PM   Subscribe

Less than a week after signing a new rental lease, my landlord calls and says that he's canceling our agreement and plans to move into the unit himself. What's our best course of action?

This is in Oakland, California. The lease is set to start April 1st. He claims to be in a "hardship" situation where he needs to leave his current home, and because the unit is currently "vacant" he wants to move in and kick us out before we're even there. As far as I can tell, this isn't legal. However, is it worth fighting or ... ? Looking for any advice.
posted by treebjen to Law & Government (23 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Oakland has a very strong renters rights law.

talk to:

Just Cause Oakland

the Oakland Campaign for Tenants Rights: (510) 595-5545

the Housing Law Project

Good luck. I'm not a lawyer myself so even though it SOUNDS very sketchy, I couldn't tell you if it were legal or not. Let us know what happens!
posted by luriete at 12:56 PM on March 26, 2007

Don't fight to move in. Being trapped in a lease with a landlord who doesn't want you there is a recipe for disaster. You may wind up fighting with him over all sorts of things, you can bet that the lease won't be renewed when it comes up, and in general, you are setting yourself up for an unpleasant stay. If you make him back down (whether through legal pressure or the threat of it), he's going to start of resenting you, and as the landlord, he has the power to make your life annoying (heat and maintainance just on the legal side of the minimum come to mind). You'll also need to dot every t and cross every i in your dealings with him; watch out for even one late rent payment.