Staying Awake
March 18, 2004 1:57 PM   Subscribe

Fun with narcolepsy: how can I keep from falling asleep during talks? [more inside]

I'm currently a graduate student, and as such I often attend talks, lectures, and colloquia in the mid- to late-afternoon. Problem is, unless the speaker is incredibly scintillating (which most are not), I find myself drifting off to sleep within ten minutes of the lights going down and the first transparency being displayed. This happens regardless of whether I've gotten my eight hours the night before or not. More often than not, drinking a cup of coffee right before the talk will have no effect. And unless there's something I'm subconsciously repressing, I'm not under much stress at all.

How can I break myself of this habit? It's starting to become somewhat embarassing.
posted by Johnny Assay to Health & Fitness (16 answers total)

So you don't actually have narcolepsy?

I find that regular excercise and a regular sleep schedule is the key to staying alert throughout the day. The grad school lifestyle isn't exactly conducive to getting lots of sleep, but IMO sleep is terribly underrated when it comes to overall health.
posted by jpoulos at 2:04 PM on March 18, 2004

Are you sure you aren't suffering from sleep apnea? See a doctor and inquire about it. I was falling asleep EVERYWHERE, even while TYPING, before I was diagnosed (and successfully treated w/CPAP) for obstructive sleep apnea.
posted by mrbill at 2:04 PM on March 18, 2004

in the mid- to late-afternoon
Change your schedule. Or, change your wake up potion, try a energy drink or the canned espressos. Sounds like your problem is being bored by boredom.

Maybe you can try taking detailed notes to keep you a wake or some other form of "following the instructor along as he/she speaks" keeping you more focussed awake.
posted by thomcatspike at 2:07 PM on March 18, 2004

More often than not, drinking a cup of coffee right before the talk will have no effect.