Mathematical Notation
March 15, 2007 2:29 AM   Subscribe

Mathematics notation help needed please. Given the expresion: cosx(x+1), is this properly interpreted as (x+1)cosx or cos(x^2+x)?
posted by Neiltupper to Education (14 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Practical experience indicates the second one.
posted by Phire at 2:36 AM on March 15, 2007

The second
posted by handee at 2:48 AM on March 15, 2007

I would have to say it would depend on the layout of the formula and where you got it. As an engineering student, I have different professors for different subjects in math, where one prof. would expect the first answer, and the other prof. would expect the second answer. The spacing in the question would matter as well. Generally speaking, if the only thing written is Cos x(x+1) and this is not a part of a larger equation, i would be inclined to say it is equal to Cos (x^2 + x). if you are unsure, take a look at the other expressions around it and check to see if there is anything that looks like (x+1) Cos x to compare against.

In general mathematic rules expect (x+1)cos x to be written as such, so I would be inclined to agree with the second answer
posted by mrw at 3:37 AM on March 15, 2007

It's ambiguous, and there's no way around that. When I looked at it, the way I interpreted it was (cos(x))(x+1). I tend to see "cosx" as a tightly-bound chunk; if the argument for a trig function is larger than a single letter, then it should be enclosed in parentheses. Styles vary, though, and I agree with mrw that spacing may be a clue to the intended meaning.

This probably goes without saying, but the way to deal with this if it's an isolated expression that's part of homework or something is to use parenthesization to indicate which interpretation you took, and possibly even include a little note acknowledging the ambiguity. No sensible teacher will have a problem with that; admittedly, there are less than sensible teachers out there.