AIX and Solaris courses for experienced Linux admin?
March 1, 2007 1:10 AM   Subscribe

Years of Linux experience, but looking for training on Solaris and AIX without having to relearn the basics

I've been working with Linux professionally for about 10 years as a system administrator, but have recently taken a position where I'll be administering Solaris and AIX boxes as well. I've worked with other UNIXes in the past (BSD, Mach, SunOS/Solaris, AIX, IRIX, SCO, others) but only at a basic level and feeling my way around things such as package management, installation, and other topics that vary from OS to OS.

I've been offered paid training classes, but most of the courses I've found so far start at the basics, which are pretty similar between all UNIXes. Anyone out there know a vendor that's offering a Solaris or AIX course that won't require me to relearn the parts I already know well?
posted by tkolstee to Computers & Internet (5 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Years back, I took some of the Sun training classes to get prepared for their Java and Solaris certification exams.

I would recommend the Sun classes, which provide both in-person training and big, thick reference books for you to take notes in and keep.

The course material is not generic UNIX stuff, but rather the specialized commands you will use to manage Solaris systems and disk/network resources.

They are expensive, but if your employer is paying for them, I definitely recommend it as they get you up to speed on Solaris specifics. (They are also excellent preparation for the certification exams.)
posted by Blazecock Pileon at 1:31 AM on March 1, 2007