Looking for a bored immunologist
February 28, 2007 11:59 AM   Subscribe

Any research immunologists out there? I need information on footpad swelling experiments in mice.

I'm a geneticist and molecular biologist by trade--so pardon my ignorance, but I don't have any immunologists in my new lab to ask my dumb questions anymore. What exactly is footpad swelling in a mouse model indicative of? Why would you use this particular measurement versus something else?

I'm presenting a journal club on Friday, so I can describe the data if it makes any difference.
posted by divka to Science & Nature (14 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

IANAI, but it seems to be a way to measure inflammation and/or edema, as in the case of an infection. I think a lot of these types of assays are used for historical reasons and to facillitate comparison with older experiments.
posted by exogenous at 12:13 PM on February 28, 2007

from here

Our findings that anti-IL-12 abrogated control of parasite growth in the lymph nodes of C57BL/6 mice is in contrast to a previous report in which anti-IL-12 treatment did not alter control of secondary infection (as assessed by footpad swelling) in a different resistant strain (C3H) of mouse (22).

Seems to indicate infection, but IANAI.
posted by jourman2 at 12:19 PM on February 28, 2007

Hmm, further staring at the paper seems to indicate that in this particular experiment they claim the footpad swelling is indicitive of T-cell response...If this sounds totally off course, let me know.

I wish they would stop sneaking immunology into these nifty genetics papers. (Just kidding, of course).
posted by divka at 12:21 PM on February 28, 2007

I was under the impression that edema was more related to the innate immune response (cytokines increasing the permeability of vessels) than the adaptive (T/Bcells). But I'm looking into it some more...
posted by twoporedomain at 12:57 PM on February 28, 2007