How can I add descriptions to a category listing in Wordpress 2.1?
February 7, 2007 10:00 AM   Subscribe

WordPress 2.1 help: How can I add descriptions to a category page?

Using Wordpress 2.1, here's what I'm trying to do:

1. Publish a post to a selected category (easy)
2. Have the post automatically listed on the category page (easy)
3. Have a "sticky intro" at the top of the category page (don't know how)
4. Display a POST DESCRIPTION (or a 2-line excerpt from the post), rather than just a list of titles or the entire freakin' post, for each post in that category list.

Is there a plug-in I can install that will let me do this, or some code I can modify? Go easy on the techno-speak, I'm a designer, not a coder. Here's a text-only example of how I'd like the page to end up (or something close to this):
-----------------------------

Category Page Title

This is a welcome message that stays at the top all the time, explaining the page to new visitors. The rest of the page will be descending chronological summary of posts in this category, that looks a little bit like this:

[horizontal divide]
Linked post title * Date
# Comments * Posted in Category by Author
Brief description of what this post is about, or a two-line excerpt from the post itself. Brief description of what this post is about, or...
[horizontal divide]

[another box just like above]

-----------------------------

Does anybody around here have any ideas? I know I should be asking the WordPress help forum (and I have), but you guys are smart, too. Any help would be appreciated. Bonus points if the solution looks nice and is easy to create.
posted by Milkman Dan to Computers & Internet (6 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

The adhesive plugin (currently offline but available on this page will take care of the "sticky intro". Just post the intro as an, er, post in that category and mark it sticky.
posted by doublesix at 10:13 AM on February 7, 2007