My monitor won't display anything
January 12, 2007 9:30 AM   Subscribe

Why does my monitor randomly give out on me? Furthermore, why does it say "NO VIDEO INPUT" when I turn it on after starting my computer up?

Brief history: I'm a college student, so I live at home then move at college. My computer gave me zero problems until a few months ago, when I did something to it while moving in, so when I finally moved in, I had the classic "my computer won't turn on no matter what I do" problem. I had to the motherboard and I had to get it replaced from a place back home since it was 1) cheaper and 2) not run by totally incompetent buffoons like the place at school here. Flash forward to last month. It was working fine until it gave me the same problem: it won't turn on. Apparently, the motherboard they replaced it with was faulty but they replaced it for free.

I move in after Christmas break and...it doesn't work with my monitor. It worked well with my old CRT monitor I had back home but my flat screen LCD monitor wouldn't start. I would turn on my computer, then turn on my monitor, but the monitor wouldn't show anything. I check the connections and such but no luck. A few days later, I buy a brand spankin' new monitor and I have the same problem.

I have it sent home (yes, it is inconvenient) and from what my mom told me, they were like "Look, see, it works!" and they give me a new monitor to work with it (trading in the new monitor I just got).

So this new monitor works for a few days until about about a day or two ago when it gives out while I'm online and says "NO VIDEO INPUT" and not start up when I turn turning it on and off. I try in vain, rebooting my computer several times, and when I was calling home about it, it just magically started working again. I figure it was a fluke kind of a thing, when last night, I try to turn my monitor on but it gives me the same problem.