What's the best way to organize a mountain of computer-related power adapters?
January 8, 2007 7:40 AM   Subscribe

What's the best way to organize a mountain of computer-related power adapters that is a) safe, and b) neat?

Like most nerds I have a *ton* of power adapters plugged in at my desk - computer, two screens, multifunction printer, speakers, DSL modem, router, VOIP adapter, etc., etc. It's a gigantic mess of cables and power bricks.

I really want to sit down and reorganize everything to make it easier to access, neater, and at the same time electrically safe. I currently have an APC BX1000 that I've been using for a couple of years and have only around 15% power capacity plugged into it.

What do you do to organize your power?
posted by theNonsuch to Computers & Internet (15 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Zip ties!
posted by trevyn at 7:44 AM on January 8, 2007

I use zip ties as well, but if I had the cash I'd use cable capture or, even better, cable turtles.

I'm actually planning on making my own in this vein with a bolts and "pinch bowls" which are silicon bowls and should work nicely.
posted by JeremiahBritt at 7:53 AM on January 8, 2007

I am reading the question as "how do I organize the adapters," not "how do I organize the cables?" Maybe I am misreading it, but if I'm not, these might help. If it's the cables, there is this.
posted by Kirth Gerson at 7:58 AM on January 8, 2007

Response by poster: The question covers both. Basically, what's the most efficient way to plug the adapters in? And then, what's the best way to organize the cables?
posted by theNonsuch at 9:03 AM on January 8, 2007

I saw something recently about hooking a wire basket to the underside of the table, and coiling all the cable evil-ness into it. Seemed like a good solution for all the permanent cables to me.

1 cable going into a basket, 4 going out, basket completely hidden.

No idea where I saw it, though.
posted by Leon at 9:27 AM on January 8, 2007