Looking for Toronto self-employed mortgage advice
January 5, 2007 9:47 AM   Subscribe

My partner and I are thinking about buying our first home in Toronto and are looking into mortgage options, but it gets a little complicated as I'm self-employed. Looking for advice on self employed mortgages or good brokers in Toronto.

Between us we made about $60k each in 2006, and expect similar in 2007 and onwards. The complication comes in the fact that I'm a self-employed web developer, I left my permanent government job in January 2006 so I'm just approaching one year self-employed and expect to remain that way. My partner has a steady, professional job in healthcare.

From mortgage calculators, it looks like with our relatively low debt ($10k of student loans) and incomes we could expect to borrow around $400k from a bank *if* we were both employed.

We don't actually need that much, we're looking at condos around the $250-280k mark and expect to have a 10% down payment.

So, my specific question is regarding Canadian self-employed mefites mortgage experiences. I've googled up plenty of self-employed mortgages, but all seem to want you to have been self-employed for 3 years+, and we're not up for waiting another two years to meet that criteria. Anyone know good alternatives to this? Any advice on good, trustworthy mortgage advice in Toronto would also be appreciated.
posted by pasd to Work & Money (10 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

I wouldn't worry. Here's what you do:

--get as large a downpayment as you can. 25% would be ideal.
--emphasize your partner's job. List the partner first. Your income is just gravy.
--Provide tax returns and such showing that you really do make $X per year and report it to the government.