Why is City of Heroes overheating my PC?
December 1, 2006 11:36 AM   Subscribe

ComputerHardwareConundrumFilter. I built my PC about two years ago. Works great, mostly. But lately, when playing one particular game, my PC performs for only 16 or so minutes before shutting down completely. As you might expect, there's a lot ...

Thanks in advance for your attention. Here's the conundrum for you:

I've been running an MSI Nvidia GeForce FX5900 XT for a little over two years now. It is no longer the top of the line, if it really ever was. However, it has performed admirably in most of the games that matter to me. Oblivion quickly became a slideshow, but Half-Life 2/Counter-Strike: Source look good and perform just fine with a little in-game tweaking. World Of Warcraft worked well, as did City Of Heroes/Villains ... for awhile.

However, for the last five or six months, I can't get more than 20 minutes of gameplay out of City Of Heroes. Even with the in-game settings dropped to half, my entire system shuts down. Completely. No blue screen, no warning. And the worst part? No event registers in the XP system log.

My frustrated guess is that COH is particularly apt at targeting the RAM chips on my FX5900 XT and overheating them. Of course, my assessment of this overheating is very unscientific. The FX5900 XT has no on-board temperature monitor, so I've only my index finger to depend on.

In an attempt to get a little more life out of this otherwise okay card, I purchased an Arctic Cooling Silencer and installed it last night. I figured that would be an improvement, as MSI's stock heatsink/fan only covered the GPU, not the RAM. (I posted photos of the Arctic Cooling install to Flickr. Perhaps there was a mistake in my installation.)

But even after installing the Silencer and popping it back in the case, I could only stay in COH for 16 minutes. A reach into the case confirmed that the back of the card under the RAM chips was just as hot as before.