Will i need to remove and replace my soundcard for windows to recognise it?
November 17, 2006 4:39 PM   Subscribe

Will i need to remove and replace my soundcard for windows to recognise it? Sound card driver is installed but the hardware itself isnt recognised.

Im not very tech savvy and im scared of opening my pc. I usually use ubuntu linux but now i reformatted and installed windows XP. The problem is my sound card, i have the driver installed, but the hardware itself isnt being recognised. Any suggestions?
posted by freddymetz to Computers & Internet (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Can you see the sound card as a resource in your boot progress screen? (If your PC has a simple logo splash screen during boot, you may need to press F2 or something to get it to display its normal boot progress screens, instead). Most BIOS systems probe the PCI bus(es) and Northbridge and Southbridge devices during boot, and report the availability of devices they find, on first power up. They then store that information in an area of CMOS memory called ESCD, to avoid having to rescan memory each time the computer boots. If you are changing OS from Linux to Windows, you may need to go through BIOS setup again, to clear ESCD, re-probe your buses for the actual hardware present, and feed the results to Windows. This should be a one-time thing, unless the CMOS battery on your motherboard is shot, and the machine won't hold BIOS options between boots.
posted by paulsc at 5:10 PM on November 17, 2006

what sound card? ... what drivers?
posted by pyramid termite at 5:37 PM on November 17, 2006

Right click my computer, goto properties, goto Hardware, Goto device manager, are there any devices that show up as "Unknown Device" or similar? Are any of the area's expanded with red x's next to them?
posted by SirStan at 5:57 PM on November 17, 2006

Response by poster: The sound card is an avance 97 which came with the medion pc.
There arent any "unknown devices" listed