Volunteering Chained To My Desk?
November 3, 2006 4:36 PM   Subscribe

VolunteeringFilter: How can I get make a difference without leaving my desk?

I'd like to volunteer with some worthy organizations, but I have a problem: I can't travel far, (I'm a college student) I have trouble traveling near (I'm in a fussy power wheelchair) and my free time is usually late evening, making time sensitive events difficult. I have a strong, clear speaking voice, an annoying slow typing speed, and the ability to use a mouse just fine. I've heard of MediaVolunteer, but I was hoping Mefites might be able to guide me toward smaller-scale projects that fit my condition, or provide tips or success stories. (I'm at Stony Brook if location makes a difference.) Thanks everyone!
posted by StrikeTheViol to Society & Culture (11 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

if political volunteerism is your thing, you might volunteer to be part of the get-out-the-vote squad that works by calling people on the phone. available in blue, green, and red.
posted by sergeant sandwich at 4:52 PM on November 3, 2006

Find a non-profit that needs a website designed or maintained or updated etc. You can do it from your desk and get comments and feedback via email/phone.
posted by tiamat at 5:22 PM on November 3, 2006

You could also sign up for Amnesty's Urgent Action Network:
As soon as Amnesty International learns that a person is in imminent danger of human rights abuse, we alert members of the Urgent Action network in over 70 countries.

Urgent Action network members then compose and send letters, e-mails, faxes and telegrams to the officials - whether presidents or prison governors - who have the power to stop the abuse.
posted by ClarissaWAM at 5:27 PM on November 3, 2006

The best site I've seen is the UN online volunteering clearinghouse.