Religion in American politics -marketing?
October 3, 2006 2:35 PM   Subscribe

To what extent do political organisations in the US use religious issues to manipulate the electorate? Ideas for political research -US perspective please!

I'm considering doing an extended piece of political research on Political parties and their marketing from a historical perspective (although any present day stuff could be useful).

At this stage I would like to focus on American politics as I would like to focus (at least in part) with the issue of religion in politics...and how political organisations use religious issues to manipulate the electorate.

Of course I'm not asking mefi to write my research proposal (I've got plenty of ideas of my own) but I would like an American perspective (I'm a British student). What should I focus on? What examples?

Possible ideas

the Clinton/ Bush election of the early 90s...'highjacked' by the the religious right etc?

The edition of God we trust on currency during the cold war?

Other examples?

I am very open at this stage but would like to concentrate on American politics as religious issues and debate seem much more charged when compared with the relatively secular arena of British politics.
posted by Flamingoroad to Law & Government (17 answers total)

You may find the new book The Moral Rhetoric of American Presidents interesting and useful. The author may also be able to suggest further reading or avenues of research on this topic.

Disclaimer: I know the author, but I would recommend the book even if I didn't!
posted by arco at 2:45 PM on October 3, 2006

Even today, the use of religious rhetoric by the candidates themselves if fairly subdued--more covert than overt.