Help Enabling 'mail' in the Mac OS X command line ...
September 20, 2006 7:46 AM   Subscribe

In need of "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Enabling/Getting the 'Mail' Unix Command to E-Mail You Stuff, for Complete and Utter Dummies."

I'm middlin' competent with Unix within Mac OS X ... I know how to build stuff, have some stuff aliased, know what "apropos" does, have investigated the various command-line switches for "ls", have written a couple of shell scripts to make my life easier, etc.

In other words, I'm by no means an expert, but I'm not uncomfortable in the environment. (I use tcsh, however, not bash; tcsh used to be the default shell in earlier versions of OS X, and I didn't make the switchover to bash when Mac OS X did.)

I've seen quite a few cases in which the ability to e-mail myself something from the command line ... either as the results of a shell script, as reminders to my cell phone's e-mail address, or ... well, I use the remind command-line utility to take care of my schedule, so the ability to e-mail that schedule to my inbox would be quite useful.

The key to that is the mail command-line utility. However, I have no idea how to get that working and set up. And what would the sender's e-mail address look like? Would it be something like (my Mac user account name)@(local Unix name for computer)? If so, is there any way that I can get it to use my Internet service provider, so that the e-mails look like they're coming from my normal home address? (I use RCN; full address in my MeFi profile, if you need it.)

And are there any security concerns I need worry about?

Answers appreciated; links appreciated if they're very step-by-step and address the concerns above.

This'd be an enormous productivity boost for me. Help greatly appreciated in advance!
posted by WCityMike to Computers & Internet (3 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite