Did I screw up my career?
August 31, 2006 6:21 AM   Subscribe

Have I just screwed up my career caused by a bout of anger, depression, burn out and frustration? And how do I "get back into the game"?

First some background, I'm a web person in a fairly small city with nearly 10 years experience and I had been working at a start-up web agency for around 2 years, until a couple of months ago, as the senior person on board.

Towards the end of last year I could feel the pressure of the job building and the burn out coming (home life and a friends suicide played a huge part), so I planned a vacation at the start of this year in the hopes it would help get my head straight.

It didn't, things started to spiral out of control as soon as I got back, the directors started making decisions without me, stopped inviting me along to client events, that kind of thing. This left me feeling marginalized, betrayed and frustrated, especially when some of those decisions where bad ones that I wouldn't have allowed had I been included in the discussions initially. I retrospect I can understand why the directors did this, thinking they could at least take some of the pressure off me, but they never spoke to me about it, they just went ahead and did it (this is however conjecture on my part, I have no real idea what they were up to). I should point out it never affected the quality or timing of my work, I was always on time and within budget on all my projects.

So one day I upped and quit, I got angry over something the team had come up with and then wasn't allowed to participate in - really it was just a backbreaking camel moment. I didn't have another job to go to (I still don't!) nor have any plans on what I was doing. I did leave on decent terms with the directors, but was pretty clear I wouldn't work for them again.