Lengthy questions regarding administering a small-office network, including a Cisco PIX Firewall and Cisco Catalyst switch.
August 9, 2006 11:33 AM   Subscribe

Lengthy questions regarding administering a small-office network, including a Cisco PIX Firewall and Cisco Catalyst switch.

We're making some modifications to a small office network. I do not do this for a living, by any means, and I realize that I am a little over my head, but I am willing to give it a go.

Essentially, what we are doing is chucking the old server and replacing it with a NAS. Now, no one here likes the old network-- the best thing I ever did was set all the workstations to print via IP rather than using the server. Nowadays, no print jobs get lost, and everything usually works. The server sees virtually no use, as nearly everything here (our website, our exchange server, etc) is outsourced.

What I need to do is to tell the routing hardware to give the new printers and NAS static IP addresses.

So, I went about the internet, looking around, and I still haven't figured out how to tell the hardware what I want it to know. I can get to the firewall via my browser at 192.168.1.1. I can get to the switch only by hyperterminal through the DB9 console, and despite some competence with command-line instructions, I can't see any routing information. I can't figure out how to get to the switch via a browser GUI, and I can't tell anything about the current IP routing scheme.

My questions:
1. How do I get to the switch's GUI?
2. Does the firewall somehow make getting to the switch less important?
3. Given your answers in 1 and 2, what do I need to figure out to assign static addresses to the new hardware?

I realize that these questions may be basic, but I am totally flummoxed that I can't get to the switch, and I am wondering if my failure is due to stupidity or design.
posted by trharlan to Computers & Internet (16 answers total)