Make them hire me!
August 2, 2006 7:01 AM   Subscribe

Help me ace an interview for a job I am not really qualified for.

I have an interview for a job tomorrow. I have a problem in that every job interview I go to says that I am way overqualifed for what they are paying, so I have decided to apply for jobs that I am a little underqualifed for.

Points because a patron in the bar I work for clued me in to the opening and has been advocating for me and points because apparently my would be boss was just finishing her masters in my program when I just started and she remembers me.

HOWEVER, in all honesty, I am not the most qualified for this position. I have NO doubt that I would do wonderfully in this position seeing as I have the natural skills for it, but my experience is lacking.

I have my masters in Nonprofit Organizations, but I have been working more in advocacy and education and this is more fundraising/special events. I have to do some of that in this job, after all setting up workshops and receptions is very much logistically like setting up special events, but how do I really sound like I can do it?

How do I not look like a kid? At 27, I still look and carry myself pretty young even in a suit.

What about salary? I make 31k in my current position, my direct supervisor in this postion makes around 68k, should I ask for low 40's for what would be a senior manager position?
posted by stormygrey to Work & Money (16 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Get only 4 hours sleep the night before, you'll look and act 10 years older.
posted by scheptech at 7:24 AM on August 2, 2006

but how do I really sound like I can do it?