How can I get ready for a grad program in econcomics?
July 27, 2006 4:26 PM   Subscribe

I'm about to enter a graduate program in economics, but as an undergrad, I studied anthropology and sociology. I'm feeling really out of the loop. What do I need to do, learn, or get to be ready for econ at the graduate level?

I picked up a minor in economics in my last two years, so I have a general idea of what I'm getting into (and yes, I've taken steps to get comfortable with heavy math again). I'm feeling pretty good about being ready to keep up with the actual material in class. It's mostly the more peripheral things that have me worried. Stuff like software, standard writing formats, etc- is there some word processor or add-on I should have to be able to include formulas and whatnot in my work? What's the standard method of citation? Is it REALLY worth it to learn Tex, and do I really need to upgrade my student edition Office to Professional? Is there anything that pretty much everyone else will have been exposed to that I should get familiar with?

Are there any particular economists or theories people tend to drop into conversation, books I should be sure to keep around, websites to bookmark, or publications to keep on top of? Any general tips would be appreciated, too- advice on how to stay motivated and not drive myself insane would be great. I'm going straight from undergrad to a master's program in a subject I've only taken 6 courses in- I just want to minimize the disadvantage as much as humanly possible. And I'd maybe even like to be able to get people's jokes.
posted by laura763 to Education (9 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

It really depends on what kind of graduate program you're doing. Is it a Ph.D.? MA? Straight up econ or something more specialized?

I'd say there are a few things you ought to do:

1. Learn Stata or something equivalent. You will need it for any empirical work you do.