One week in India--what to do?
July 14, 2006 1:26 AM   Subscribe

I'm going to India with my girlfriend for 8 days in late August. I've just got my Lonely Planet guide, but it's my first time there and I'm not sure what would be a good itinerary. For such a short trip, we can't venture too far from Dehli (we fly in there, fly out a week later). We're taking the requisite visit to Agra to see the Taj Mahal, but I've read there's not much else there, so I want to know other places in the area worth seeing.

I'm interested in historical/scenic places, don't necessarily wanna spend time in the city (of course unless there's something worth visiting). Also, how reliable are the trains? Are delays/breakdowns common? I'm thinking about hiring a driver if it's not too expensive. But if the trains are good enough, I'd like to get as far as I can from Dehli to see some sights. We'll be backpacking it, and I'm a bit more rough-and-tumble than the gf, so how demanding physically is travelling around this area?

Any 1-week itinerary suggestions?
posted by zardoz to Travel & Transportation around India (17 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

There's the Golden Temple in Amritsar, India. It's about the same distance as Agra, only in the other direction (NNW instead of SSE).
posted by Civil_Disobedient at 2:48 AM on July 14, 2006

Get out of Delhi, pronto. If you are in the slightest bit interested in wildlife or birds there is an amazing Bird Sanctuary (Keoladeo Ghana National Park) not far from the Taj Mahal. It is really worth the trip.
And if it is at all feasible, get thee to Jaisalmer in Rajasthan. A beautiful colorful crazy place. Namaste!
posted by tingting at 5:14 AM on July 14, 2006

When in Delhi, definitely check out Akshardham Temple . It is one of the new wonders of the world and IMHO better then the Taj Mahal.
posted by ataraxian at 5:50 AM on July 14, 2006