german translation
July 13, 2006 8:57 AM   Subscribe

Could some please translate a couple of phrases from German for me?

1 - "Herr Schneider w├╝tet in meinem Laden rum"
2 - Er redet doch allen nach dem Mund.

thank you!
posted by dydecker to Writing & Language (18 answers total)

1- Mr Schneider raged around (in) my shop

Not sure about no. 2 - 'reden' means 'to speak/pontificate/diatribe (etc) and the Leo online German dictionary gives 'to play to' for 'nach dem Mund reden' but I can't parse the whole thing and put it into English - perhaps someone else can help?

do you know any German at all?
posted by altolinguistic at 9:20 AM on July 13, 2006

n.b., IAAT (I am a translator), but IANYT (I am not your translator) and I don't translate from German. And my usual rate is $0.15/word with a minimum charge of $30... :-)
posted by altolinguistic at 9:22 AM on July 13, 2006

1. Mr. Schneider wreaked havoc in my shop.
2. He tells everybody what they want to hear.
posted by jedicus at 9:23 AM on July 13, 2006

cool, jedicus, that's much better than mine.
posted by altolinguistic at 9:25 AM on July 13, 2006

Response by poster: altolinguistic, i know no German at all except how to say "allo" in that cute German way. Your check is in the post.

What does "Mr. Schneider wreaked havoc in my shop" mean figuratively? He's not talking about a shop literally. Is there an equivalent idiom in English for someone who messes with your business? Does it mean "Mr Schneider is messing with my baby"? he's talking about his music festival.
posted by dydecker at 9:31 AM on July 13, 2006

Not sure ... I can't parse the whole thing and put it into English ... I don't translate from German
Excellent reasons not to post "answers" in this thread.
posted by Wolfdog at 9:32 AM on July 13, 2006