Should I get an MA in Counseling or a really expensive MSW?
July 5, 2006 12:14 PM   Subscribe

Should I get an MA in Counseling or spring for the super expensive MSW?

I tried an MSW program at an Ivy League-ish university right out of college and felt disappointed in the intellectual caliber of my classmates, so I dropped out and switched my studies to communications. I work in marketing now (after my MA) and no longer like working on the ideas of things without following through with grassroots implementation of that idea.

Now I realize that not everyone is perfect and grad school is not like undergrad, so I'm willing to give it another try. But the MSW program here costs more than $40K a year and an MA in Counseling program at the local university will, in total, costs less than $10K.

I would like to attend a local MSW or MA Counseling program (I now live in DC), but the cost is depressing for the former.

I would like to work in a school setting with kids and adolescents with academic problems. I'd also like to do it on the cheap part time. Should I just go with the MA in Counseling program? I would also like to work on research on the side.
posted by onepapertiger to Education (13 answers total)

Hi, I'm an MSW who got mine while I was living in DC, although not in DC.

The short answer is that I'd go with the MSW. It's a much more flexible degree, with many more job possibilities. It also, and here my bias is blatant, does a better job, I think, of situating the person in the environment, and since extra-therpuetic changes account for the bulk of people in mental distress getting better, is, I think, a better degree for counseling.