Help me fix really crappy sounding brakes
June 25, 2006 5:02 PM   Subscribe

New bike has disk brakes that squeek, cry and grind. It sounds awful. How can I fix this?

It's a Giant Sedona with disk brakes. They work well, (good stopping power) but feel grindy.

Is this because they are new? Can I just buff the disks with emory paper or something?

Yes, it's warrented but it's just a bike, and I like to fix stuff. Any ideas?
posted by snsranch to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (12 answers total)

I would venture to guess that this is because they are new, but I am no expert on bikes. Have you tried breaking them in (no pun intended)? Maybe a good weekend of hard stops will wear the brakes down to a point where they are a little quieter.
posted by galimatias at 6:08 PM on June 25, 2006

What's a crying brake sound like?

Just make sure the pads are hitting in parallel and work 'em in I suppose
posted by RufusW at 6:10 PM on June 25, 2006

Toe In

When a brake shoe hits a moving rim, the pull of the rim causes the brake arm to flex a bit. If your brake shoes hit a stationary rim perfectly straight and squarely, the flex of the brake arm will cause the rear edge of the brake shoe to do the brunt of the work. The front edge of the shoe may not even be engaging the rim under hard braking.

Good practice in installing brake shoes is to "toe them in", so that the front part of the shoe hits the rim first. As the brake arm flexes under real braking, it will permit the whole surface of the brake shoe to engage the rim.

Toeing in of brake shoes can also reduce the annoying squeal some brakes make when in use.

Most newer brake shoes have special washers with curved surfaces to allow you to adjust the angle of the shoe to the rim. Older brakes relied on brute force, typically bending the brake arm with an adjustable wrench.
From Sheldon Brown, your one-stop 'How do I...' Cycling resource.
posted by Orb2069 at 6:27 PM on June 25, 2006

I did not know that - thank you :)