Please help identify this medical condition
June 19, 2006 11:19 AM   Subscribe

My older brother was born with a medical condition that I would like more information about. Being from a third world country does not help finding a label or diagnosis for it, so I will try to explain it as best as I can and hopefully someone will pinpoint it. I have been a US resident for a while and I am unfortunately not with him to see a doctor and find the answers that I need. From what I know it is incurable but who knows, maybe there is something out there that can help him out.

As a baby he looked normal, but as he started growing up, he was not able to use neither his left hand nor left leg. It is not paralysis, but almost the opposite, tight muscles, as if the tendons are short, his hand as well as leg are shorter than his right ones, and the muscles are always tight, he can't even open his fingers unless forces it with his right hand.

Since there is not so much activity the muscles are smaller as well. From what I know from asking my mother, she said something about the midwife not helping him breath well when born. I can only assume that he was born normal but due to maybe lack of oxygen some damage happened.

I estimate his IQ as 95-100 SD 16, not as brilliant, tends to forget a lot, but everything else functions normally.
I am suspecting that it is a common medical condition because I have seen a person with exact conditions before.

He is now in his 40's and he has seen a doctor that performed a surgery to extend his tendons, on both arm and leg, to release some of the pressure, and he underwent a long physical therapy, unfortunatly the improvement was very minimal.

Thank you.
posted by convex to Health & Fitness (11 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Hemiplegic cerebral palsy? Cerebral palsy is extremely common.
posted by empyrean at 11:23 AM on June 19, 2006