Concord NH job hunt.
June 14, 2006 11:54 AM   Subscribe

How do I get a job I will love in Concord, New Hampshire?

At the beginning of August, I will be moving to Concord, New Hampshire, where my husband is going to school. I will be supporting us.

I don't know a soul there. The only job I have held in the United States was in Tennessee, in a field I don't want to stay in (printing banking products - I wrote up the specifications for orders) although I'd be happy to be employed in the related field of book publishing (as I am a writer). I was hired through a temp agency and made permanent.

My work experience in Canada was: several summers as an office intern at a not-for-profit arts organization, five years as the office manager and Jenny-of-all-trades at another not-for-profit arts organization (which I just adored and would do again in a heartbeat), and four years temping while trying to move to the US to be with my spouse, during which time I enjoyed a nine-month stint as an executive secretary to a Director (which meant I did a lot of ministerial correspondence and such) in a government department.

The other three-and-a-bit years temping were not filled with joy for me. I don't ever want to do another data entry/filing/answering phones type job again. I am not above such work in the context of a larger job with more responsibility, but I really don't want to be pigeon-holed into yet another low-level pink collar job. Partly for the money, but mostly because it's boring.

I am not worried about getting a job. I can always go back to the temp agency, if worst comes to worst. I am worried about getting a crappy job and being unable to make the connections to get a better one.

Concord is a very small city (42,000 people) and from what I can tell (on the basis of internet research and one three-day visit) the primary employer is the government.