Can I switch to an entirely different career?
May 31, 2006 12:18 PM   Subscribe

I want to work with animals, specifically, big cats. I currently work in IT. Is it too late to get my dream job?

I'm 26, living in the UK. I have A-Levels and a professional qualification in Software Testing, which is what I do for a living. I have no degree.

My dream job is to work with big cats. Doing what? Well I don't want to be a vet, but anything that involves interaction would fall close to being a "dream job" for me.

Is it too late? What can I do?
posted by Mwongozi to Work & Money (14 answers total)

Have you . . . um . . . have you got your own hat?
posted by The Bellman at 12:24 PM on May 31, 2006

Move to Moorpark, California
posted by clh at 12:24 PM on May 31, 2006

Why don't you call your nearest zoo that houses big cats and ask them if there's a volunteer program that would allow you to work with them? A friend of my ex's did that with birds, and then got qualified as a vet tech (not an actual vet doctor) and has a job working at said zoo full time.
posted by SpecialK at 12:27 PM on May 31, 2006

A friend of mine just finished studying for her grad degree in South African Mammalogy in South Africa. She studied chemistry and biology in college. Part of her research in the bush involved many trips to preserves and field research parks. She had little access to big cats outside of smaller ones in the sanctuaries.

Short of an amazing bout of luck with placement somewhere in the Peace Corps, any field where you want to work with live big cats in an up-close capacity would require expertise in either biological or zoological sciences.