iPod reinstallation woes
May 23, 2006 7:16 PM   Subscribe

iPod re-installation woes - tried the usual steps, still not working up.

I've been using my 20GB iPod for several years. About twice or three times before, I recall that it had stopped updating automatically and I had to reinstall everything to make iTunes see it again.

Here's the current problem. Today I started up iTunes and plugged in the iPod to update it. It started blinking the usual "Do Not Disconnect" image, however, the update did not go through. I uninstalled the iPod software (and iTunes) via the Control Panel / Add/Remove, then reinstalled the iPod updater. However, when I plug in the iPod after resetting the computer, I get the following. A small icon pops up in the lower-right part of the taskbar, saying that a new device has been found; "new device" then changes name to "Apple iPod USB Device," which in turn changes to "Disk Drive." The problem is that once it reaches "Disk Drive," it seems to hang, and nothing further happens. The "Do Not Disconnect" message continues to display on the screen, but nothing else happens.

In checking the device manager, I see that when the iPod is plugged in (and showing "Do Not Disconnect"), I have no conflicts, "Apple iPod USB Device" under Disk Drives, and "USB Mass Storage Device" under Universal Serial Bus Controllers. It does seem that the drivers are properly installed, but something goes glitchy anyway.

What else can I do to fix this?

Alternatively, how can I remove all instances of iPod software, drivers, and any other associated files to try to do a clean reinstall? Finally, since Windows does not properly see my iPod, I cannot do a restore or reformat using the iPod Updater - is there any other way to do it?
posted by Pontius Pilate to Technology (6 answers total)

It seems like a lot of folks are having this problem. You might want to review the discussion here.

There are also forums at the ipod lounge.