In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is team leader
May 11, 2006 8:41 AM   Subscribe

"Managing" the development of an application: I'm the lead developer on a project that has swelled to 6 people. How do I smartly break tasks up into discrete chunks, assign them to people, get accurate estimates of how long it takes someone else to do something and track their progress?

I realize each piece is a Holy Grail of development unto itself. I have trouble enough providing accurate estimates for my own work, let alone that of someone junior to me I've never worked with before. I'm just hoping to get ideas on how other people have managed to herd a bunch of other developers while maintaining a consistent project vision and writing some code of your own.

The project is being written in C# in Visual Studio 2005 if that helps. There's an object model and I've tried to use that as the foundation of breaking things into discrete pieces ("discrete" here being a stand-in for "something someone can work on without interfering with someone else"), but I'm doing a lousy job of it.

Also, should I feel guilty about not writing enough code? The overhead to this is way more than I imagined, so I don't know if I should concentrate more on making everyone else write good code or trying to lay enough foundation in front of them they can't fuck it up too badly. I don't want to be The Architect who thinks great thoughts and never gets his hands dirty, but I don't know if doing both is feasible either.
posted by yerfatma to Computers & Internet (14 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

First MS Project is your friend. It's an effective tool for managing resources and scheduling.

How do I smartly break tasks up into discrete chunks