Best adult diaper for long plane ride
March 14, 2024 12:07 PM   Subscribe

I currently have a medical condition which is causing me to pee frequently, about every 30 - 60 minutes. My doctor assures me this is temporary, but with no specific time limit. It's not difficult to manage in general, but the most annoying thing about it is that there is not much time between knowing that I need to pee and feeling that I MUST pee RIGHT AWAY.

In April I will be taking several airplane trips, two for 4 hours, and two more for 9 hours. Rather than assume that I will always be able to get over my seat mates, navigate the aisle quickly and find the lav free, I am considering getting some adult male diapers. I have no experience with them, so any advice will be appreciated - types, brands, usage, whatever. Thanks in advance.
posted by ubiquity to Health & Fitness (13 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

I don't have a specific brand recommendation, but I'd recommend poking around some sites for those with spinal cord injuries or disabilities as this is a common issue.

Another option, if you have a penis, you can also use a condom catheter, which connects to a bag that can be affixed to your leg under your pants.
posted by hydra77 at 12:12 PM on March 14 [2 favorites]

I’m a lady and really have only worn adult diapers post-childbirth, but I want to assure you that diaper tech has come a LONG way. My few weeks of wearing adult diapers were comfortable, clean, and surprisingly felt inconspicuous under my clothing.

In your shoes, assuming I had a little cash to spend, I’d buy two different packs and try them on at home for a few hours before traveling. See how your clothes and skin fit with them. Your skin may react to the ingredients in one brand vs another, and that’s something that’s better to identify sooner rather than later.
posted by samthemander at 12:31 PM on March 14 [9 favorites]