Employee advocate for exit interview
September 20, 2023 11:26 AM   Subscribe

I’ve been working a contract job for the past three months. My boss announced at the weekly all-hands meeting that she wants to hold exit interviews with us. She’s done some shady stuff during the time I’ve worked on the project. How can I request an employee advocate for my exit interview?

I took this position because I wanted to learn more about the field. During the time I’ve been there, I was harassed by a coworker (who saw me eating a cookie at lunch on my first day and said “eat too many of those and you won’t fit down the aisles!”); on a separate occasion, one of my coworkers threw a laptop at me. (He was fired, but my boss more or less told me it was his word against mine.) I was assigned to work in close quarters with the first employee, and when I asked to work with a different coworker, my boss told me that the team was too small to keep us apart and said that I “need to learn to work with different kinds of people.”

My actual job performance has been good by the expectations they’ve set, but I haven’t felt safe with my boss and have had to take notes during our weekly all hands so I don’t dissociate. My boss indicated today that she wants to have individual exit interviews with each staff member. I don’t feel safe going into a meeting with my boss without a third party present. Is there a way to request an employee advocate? What’s the best way to ask to schedule my exit interview until I have someone?

The last day of my job is 9/29. I got this job through a temp agency, and I have documented all of this with them.
posted by anonymous to Work & Money (11 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Just decline the exit interview.
Or no show.
What are they going to do, fire you?
posted by phunniemee at 11:28 AM on September 20, 2023 [31 favorites]