How to get my stuff to Burning Man?
August 8, 2023 6:19 AM   Subscribe

I’m going to Burning Man for the first time this year. I’m looking for advice on how to get all my stuff there. The specifics are: I’m coming from Toronto, flying to SF, staying there a few days, then taking the Burner Bus, and staying at a camp (The Lost Penguin) that provides a fair amount of infrastructure.

***** Some details

I plan to get a bike in SF and bring it to the Playa

I’m in SF for three nights (2.5 days). While I’m there I have a work meeting and a big event I want to go to. So part of the challenge is how to pack both for SF and the Burn

I’m new to Burning Man and also very inexperienced at camping, etc.

Some of the big things I need to bring: A tent and related camping stuff (sleeping stuff?). Food for snacks. Some things I do not need to bring: food for meals. My supply of drinking water. (these are provided by the camp)

I'm taking the Burner Express Bus, which has a limited luggage allowance: “two luggage items, and one carry-on. Each luggage item may not exceed a total of 62 linear inches (length + width + depth) or weigh more than 50 pounds”. You can add an option to bring a bike, but can’t add an option for more luggage. I don’t have a good sense of how hard/easy it is to get everything I need into those constraints.

Time/risk/reliability and worry-reduction are greater concerns for me than money. I don’t mind doing the more expensive option if that makes things run smoother. I’m a first-timer and a little nervous about it all, so want to do things that reduce worry.

***** Some questions

a) How much stuff to I bring with me from Toronto, how much do get in SF? : Part of me thinks I should pack most/all my stuff in Toronto, check a bag on the flight. Part of me thinks I should get most/all of my stuff in SF (ie: order camping gear etc off amazon and have it shipped there) and pack it when I get there.