DressmeFilter
April 30, 2006 1:12 AM   Subscribe

Dressing professionally in a junior, bureaucratic position.

I'm a grad student in (urban) planning, whose likely working for the city planning department this summer. Measly salary considering the work I'll be doing, but I'm in a position where I'll be finished and clear very soon. I'm also turning 31 in a few weeks, and both consider myself an adult and believe that I need to start dressing like one.

Here's the thing. Most people in gov't tend to dress just enough to get away with it. Dockers and crap Mens Wearhouse slacks. ID tag and cell phone off the belt. I don't want to go down this path.

Here I've been a student long enough that I'm dying to look sharp, and I can finally afford it. I wanna raid the Republic and scour GQ for that perfect ensemble. I want to look like I jumped out of an Aston Martin.

Will I look like an idiot wearing anything but Dockers, or should I just say to hell with it and dress like I desire?

What's the etiquette here?
posted by jimmythefish to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (16 answers total)

If you're younger than everyone else, I think you'll be fine. Especially if you're running the Banana Republican look.
posted by k8t at 1:48 AM on April 30, 2006

My employer has a business casual policy, which I partake in wholeheartedly. Turns out you can look like an adult without a tie, with a little practice. The exception is when representing the agency to an outside partner/customer/etc. Then the suit/tie is de rigeur. Seems like a good policy generally. Makes you look serious and, yes, adult.
posted by Emperor SnooKloze at 5:04 AM on April 30, 2006

Phrasing this as an etiquette question is somewhat unusual. Are you concerned that you are going to offend someone or that you'll be dressed inappropriately?