Which publishers still pay for good copy editing?
January 23, 2023 6:43 AM   Subscribe

This post on the blue has spurred me to ask something I’ve wondered for a while. It seems like a number of publishers (of books, newspapers or other media) skimp on copy editing these days. As a former newspaper copy editor, I see many problems in writing that I didn’t see years ago, even in supposedly quality publications. So, where can I still find writing where copy editing is taken seriously?
posted by NotLost to Media & Arts (13 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite

The New Yorker.
posted by Melismata at 7:21 AM on January 23 [7 favorites]

The Atlantic had a great article on their copyediting process. I'm a copy editor for a medical journal, and I was very impressed (and envious) of it. So if they really follow this process, I'd say the Atlantic.
posted by FencingGal at 8:09 AM on January 23 [1 favorite]

Probably not what you're looking for, but Mathematical Sciences Publishers (full disclosure: I work there, but not as a copyeditor) provides very high quality copyediting for mathematical research journals.
posted by number9dream at 8:16 AM on January 23

The Harper-Collins strike has meant that they basically can't get copyeditors right now, so books currently in production are going to be... well, as good as their authors are at copyediting, and those are two separate skills. Otherwise, all the major SF publishers (which are the ones I'm familiar with) pay freelance copyeditors, and their quality... varies. But there's a multi-layer process in place to catch errors, so it mostly works.
posted by restless_nomad at 9:50 AM on January 23