Portable airbrush recommendation
November 23, 2022 3:39 AM   Subscribe

I'm a railway modeller looking to buy a portable airbrush for weathering, simple paint jobs, etc. Do you have any recommendations for me?

It seems to me that portable airbrushes have gotten pretty good these last few years, and as I live in a small apartment and do all my hobby painting outside I'm intrigued by this developement.

What I'm looking for is a kit that works out of the box, on Swedish voltage. I'd also like it if the kit came with a hose and nozzles in the 0.2 mm-0.5mm range (I tend to work in small scales).

My price range is about 80-100 USD and I live in Sweden, so it'd be nice if I could buy it from a Swedish shop, thus avoiding toll fees and stuff like that.

Let me know if you need any additional information to answer this question - as you probably can tell I'm quite new to airbrushing so I don't really know what to look out for and so on. Thank you!
posted by soundofsuburbia to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (2 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I bought this airbrush based on this YouTube video and it has worked out well so far. I've run primer, paint (both acrylic and alcohol based), and varnish through it with no problems, provided that I keep it clean and use enough flow aid and thinner. It has a 0.3 nozzle and recharges via USB, so you'll need to buy a separate charger, if you don't have one already. It's definitely not a high-end airbrush, but it should handle basic painting and weathering just fine, and because it runs on a battery pack you can take it anywhere.
posted by Woodroar at 4:06 AM on November 23 [2 favorites]

Reply by my friend max, an avid model railroad guy ...