ASL classes
August 24, 2022 6:17 AM   Subscribe

I am interested in learning ASL. There are no local classes near me. Can anyone point me to online learning classes or apps that could help me get to a point where I am at least proficient?

I work in a field where there is some client interaction and we have some Deaf customers who use ASL. I would like to be able to communicate with these customers more effectively than resorting to writing everything down or assuming they are catching everything said via lip reading. I feel like it's the least I could do to make these interactions a little more comfortable for these customers.

I'm a musician in my non-day job life and I was deeply moved by the films CODA, Sound of Metal, and the short film The Silent Child. Sound of Metal really got to me in particular because despite all warnings I am pretty negligent about wearing earplugs during rehearsals in small spaces and I have noticed some mild hearing loss in the past few years which I am now trying to prevent from getting worse. So in a sense, I do have a personal interest in this aside from just wanting to provide good customer service for Reasons of Capitalism.

Thanks in advance.
posted by nayantara to Writing & Language (9 answers total) 17 users marked this as a favorite

I like Bill Vicars’ online lessons. It’s good to learn from a Deaf / HoH (hard of hearing) instructor who has lived experience of communicating in ASL - and doing so helps avoid cultural appropriation of Deaf culture.
posted by nouvelle-personne at 6:52 AM on August 24 [2 favorites]

What's your budget? Jeremy Lee Stone, who was the ASL coach for Sound of Metal, teaches online classes and is a TERRIFIC teacher, but he seems to be doing mostly one-on-one and small group lessons now which cost a lot more. You probably get much more personal attention and advance faster, though! (Seconding nouvelle-personne—whatever you go with, please look for a Deaf instructor.)