Tomato growing oddity
August 23, 2022 4:17 PM   Subscribe

I have been growing Roma and San Marzano style tomatoes in my garden this year and last and both years, some of the tomatoes have an odd shape to them that looks sort of like the tomato has a skinny little waist with a belt. These tomatoes ripen up and taste fine (except for the one in the photo, which I accidentally knocked off of the vine way too early), but I was wondering if anyone knows what causes this growth pattern. Here is a photo of one such tomato.
posted by Juffo-Wup to Home & Garden (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Oh yes I’ve noticed this too. I’ve been assuming it was the result of the blossom not dropping right away and constricting growth, but it could also be insufficient water during a specific phase of growth. (Or something else, I’m new to this!)
posted by showbiz_liz at 5:09 PM on August 23, 2022 [1 favorite]

“Or something else!” is the mantra of all gardeners!

showbiz-liz is on the right track — either of the things she mentioned could cause the waisting — as could an out-of-season drop in temperature.
posted by Silvery Fish at 5:34 PM on August 23, 2022 [1 favorite]

I wonder if it's genetic. Something like fasciation.
posted by 10ch at 5:42 PM on August 23, 2022

I just dropped by to applaud the inclusion of a photo, and using IMGUR to boot! This may be an example of "zippering" which I discovered by Googling for "hourglass shaped tomatoes"
posted by mecran01 at 6:41 PM on August 23, 2022

I’m voting fasciation too.

One of the Reddit commenters says it’s more common in heirloom varieties.

Cut it in half lengthwise; if it has two of the internal whitish branching structures that issue from a stem, then I think it must be fasciation.
posted by jamjam at 6:44 PM on August 23, 2022

Cut it in half lengthwise; if it has two of the internal whitish branching structures that issue from a stem, then I think it must be fasciation.