Help a complete novice get into digital photography.
April 17, 2006 7:19 AM   Subscribe

I need help and advice on buying a good digital camera and some resources on digital photography for a beginner.

I'd like to take up digital photography as a hobby/form of artistic expression. I want to buy a camera that will take very nice photographs, but it has to be something that I, a complete novice when it comes to photography even of the analog type, can operate or learn to operate. I do have an aptitude for learning tech type things though, so as long as I don't have to obtain a degree to use the thing, I should be fine. I would like to spend somewhere around $300 on a camera, $350 on the outside. Can I get a good camera for this price? I know some basics, like looking for optical zoom rather than digital, but what else should I look for? What type of media storage is the best? What accessories do I absolutely need? Also any recommendations on good books to get me started with photography (composition, timing, light, etc) would be appreciated. So to recap:

I want a camera that can/is:
-take high resolution photos that will print well in pretty large sizes (8 x 10, possibly larger)
-be easily operated by a novice, but have enough advanced features to produce quality artistic photos once I get advanced enough
-costs around $300-$350 dollars

I'm probably asking for something that doesn't exist, but really, I just want the best camera I can get for the amount I want to spend. I've done a bit of research but the amount of information is a bit overwhelming. Help?
posted by katyggls to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (30 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

The Canon A series has a decent amount of manual control (what you will need to learn about photography) as well as automatic modes that can be used as a bridge for beginners. They have them in your price range.

5MP is plenty for 8x10s.