Online scheduling for a therapy practice?
January 23, 2022 8:56 AM   Subscribe

A friend of mine is starting a therapy practice. I'm helping her set up a web presence. What scheduling tools should we consider? (I'm a web developer, so feel free to get technical.)

We're looking for something similar to the self-scheduling apps typically used by hair salons, doctor's offices, etc. Something which:

– allows her to offer different kinds of services, with (potentially) different costs and different windows of availability

– allows clients to self-schedule (and self-cancel, if needed)

– can either be embedded on her site (as an iframe or script), or hosted for her (e.g., herpracticename.schedulingapp.com)

– is generally easy to use, full featured, and attractive

– meets relevant security/privacy requirements (as a non-therapist, I don't know what those are)

– bonus points if it also handles invoicing, payments, etc.

Any recommendations?

Thanks!
posted by escape from the potato planet to Computers & Internet (12 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Simple Practice seems to be widely used for this (and everything else) in my small sample.
posted by EL-O-ESS at 9:29 AM on January 23 [1 favorite]

Jane app is good, not sure if it's just Canada, though.
posted by EarnestDeer at 9:40 AM on January 23 [2 favorites]

Calend.ly is what's widely used here. People put their Calendly link in their email signature and it's really useful and easy to use.
posted by DarlingBri at 9:58 AM on January 23 [2 favorites]

I use calendly and its very versatile. I have a range of services and like to leave myself different spaces before or after certain appt types (for preparation or physical recovery) and it handles that. I am not sure if it has payment integration.
posted by eastboundanddown at 10:26 AM on January 23

I run 1 calendar that everyone can book any service into but It supports having separate hours for different types of work if you prefer that