New supervisor needs help!
April 6, 2006 9:01 AM   Subscribe

SupervisorFilter: I recently started working in an office and I supervise 4 people. It's a job where there is a definite year-long cycle, so every day is a learning experience for me. All 4 employees here have been here between 7 and 15 years. They all know what to expect and what to do. How can I effectively supervise them when it seems like sometimes they may be using my inexperience against me?

I hope it doesn't sound like I'm being paranoid. I really don't feel that way. I just want to make sure I am being fair to everyone when an issue comes up such as when a couple of the employees are complaining to me that they don't like the way another one is doing her job (or not, as the case may be). Since I am still learning exactly what happens in this job on a day-to-day basis, it's difficult for me to know if employee A is really having a difficult time doing her job or that she is "just complaining and trying to get out of it" as employee B says. Employee A has been doing said job for 15 years and employee B says now that there is a new supervisor (me) that employee A is using that to her advantage and trying to get rid of some tedious tasks.

I will be having a staff meeting tomorrow, but I am anticipating that it may dissolve into he said/she said among these employees and I will still be left in the dark about what should really happen to get the job done efficiently. I suppose I could just come up with all new processes, but this office has been working so well for so long, I don't want to throw a monkey-wrench into it. I also don't want to feel like I am being manipulated by either side.

Does anyone have any strategies that will help me make the employees feel they are being listened to, but still help me not to feel manipulated? Does anyone have any recommendations for books that may help? I know there are a zillion out there, so if any have helped you, I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!