Looking for specific sounding organ music
October 16, 2021 9:18 PM   Subscribe

I will be writing a score in about 6 months and am looking for inspiration and ideas for it. I don’t know much about organ music, but I am looking for anything that’s like Bach’s legendary Toccata and Fugue in D minor AND/OR the Interstellar soundtrack.

My personal favorite organ music is the Interstellar soundtrack by Hans Zimmer, due to its intensity and the timbre. The standout track on there is “Detach”, with its triumphant final section being my favorite part. I’m looking for organ music similar to this, and…

Maybe it’s because I am a guitarist, but I am really hoping to listen to some stuff that has fast scalar sections, like death metal solos if they were played on organ. Anything along the harmonic lines of technical death metal would be appreciated. Major bonus points if there is soloing over loud drones.

The main thing I’ve been able to find is this.

Where is the organ shred?!
posted by gucci mane to Media & Arts (10 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

Organ toccatas are generally a good place to look for this sort of technical play as they tend to have a lot of fast-moving melodies/harmonies over a pedal bass-line.

Here are a few pieces of organ music that I know and can recommend:
The Widor Tocatta
Prelude in A by A.D. Sulit
G. Major Toccata by Mannheim Steamroller
Toccata on "O Filii Et Filiae" by Lynwood Farnam
Saint-Saens' Symphony #3 "Organ" - Finale

This playlist I found while searching for these pieces looks promising as well.
posted by Aleyn at 10:57 PM on October 16, 2021

I came here to recommend the joyfully mad SORTIE In E Flat by Louis James Alfred Lefébure-Wély .

Also - perhaps - the finale of Organ Symphony No. 3 by Saint Saens - as an example of organ "power chords" with an orchestral backing.
posted by rongorongo at 1:03 AM on October 17, 2021