Books like To Kill a Mockingbird and The Education of Little Tree
October 12, 2021 9:57 AM   Subscribe

What other books are like To Kill a Mockingbird and The Education of Little Tree? I really liked the "life lessons" that these books demonstrate through showing rather than telling. As well as the vignettes into the psychology of various people. I feel like I am a better person after reading them.

What other books might I enjoy (I'm quite picky)? Thanks! :)
posted by Mr. Papagiorgio to Media & Arts (9 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite
 
Summer of my German Soldier.
The Member of the Wedding.
posted by Melismata at 10:18 AM on October 12


++ to Member of the Wedding or other Carson McCullers stuff
My Side of the Mountain
Bless Me Ultima
Island of the Blue Dolphins

(also FYI The Education of Little Tree was written by Asa Carter, a white supremacist who wrote speeches for George Wallace. He strenuously denied this during his life, but his life has been well-researched, and the entire book is fiction, including the Cherokee language and customs. I also liked the book on its face but am less inclined to give it a pass after learning about its author.)
posted by holyrood at 10:32 AM on October 12 [5 favorites]


a tree grows in brooklyn
posted by brujita at 10:34 AM on October 12 [5 favorites]


Ishmael!
posted by stinkfoot at 10:41 AM on October 12


So Big by Edna Ferber!
posted by jabes at 12:00 PM on October 12


I just read Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau and this seems to hit your spot. Teenaged girl growing up in the 70s in a very sheltered and strict house gets a summer job as a nanny to a very bohemian and unconventional family. Lessons are learned.
posted by brookeb at 1:02 PM on October 12


The Devil in Vienna
posted by all about eevee at 1:54 PM on October 12


Response by poster: Thanks everyone! Looking forwarded to checking these out and reading them.
posted by Mr. Papagiorgio at 9:06 PM on October 12


Theophilus North by Thornton Wilder
posted by bluedora at 9:41 PM on October 12


« Older Why why why why why how how how how   |   Holiday road trip - is it a good idea? Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments