Sisterhood of the traveling knee surgery
September 16, 2021 4:01 PM   Subscribe

I'm getting on an airplane and flying to another city for knee surgery. Have you done this yourself? If so, any pro tips or recommendations that I might not think of?

I'm traveling to another city for knee surgery. I've never done this before (knee surgery, yes; a 6-hour flight to and fro for knee surgery, no). I will have my sister with me as I start the 2-week 5-days-a-week PT that starts the day after surgery. I will not be weight bearing on that leg for a few weeks even after I come home.

I have first class tickets for the flight back so I am not getting jostled. I am trying to consider things like, how will I manage luggage while on crutches, etc.

Do you have experience with things like this? If so, what could I be forgetting or what is super important about traveling for this kind of thing that wouldn't be an issue at home?
posted by executive_dysfuncti0n to Health & Fitness (4 answers total)

Be sure to contact the airline and request a wheelchair to get you to and from the gates, and also get a porter with a cart to deal with the luggage. The porter can wrestle your bags off the baggage carousel and take them to the curb for you.
posted by serendipityrules at 4:32 PM on September 16, 2021 [6 favorites]

Two years ago I flew with my wife (to a square dance convention in Philadelphia, from the SF Bay Area, she didn't dance that week...) a few weeks after she got a partial knee replacement. As serendipityrules says, contact the airline, get the wheelchair accommodations, carry the right-sized cash to tip the wheelchair folks, they are awesome.

We sprung for first class to make sure that she had room for her leg, and carried a blow-up beach ball to have more options for foot rests and foot adjustments.

She had me to carry additional luggage and whatnot, though I believe the wheelchair folks were also happy to assist with wrangling baggage.