How do I prove I don’t work? (UK edition)
September 13, 2021 7:42 AM   Subscribe

I recently came across a university offering online classes for rare languages. To qualify for a tuition fee exemption, I need to send them proof that I don’t work. I don’t work; I’m a grad student (part time). The university is in France and I live in the UK. I’m not sure how to go about this.
posted by bigyellowtaxi to Work & Money (7 answers total)

I would imagine that, especially for France, they would have a list of appropriate documents. In the USA it would usually be something like submitting the previous year’s taxes
posted by raccoon409 at 8:06 AM on September 13

If there's no list on their website (perhaps this is a standard thing to prove in France, and if you lived there you would of course have a [document] proving your status, so they don't need to clarify!), can you ask the university what forms of proof they'll accept?
posted by ManyLeggedCreature at 8:23 AM on September 13

Maybe documents or statements showing you receive benefits like Jobseeker’s Allowance or housing benefit? I realize things have changed since I lived in the UK and they now have a different system but basically when I helped people with housing benefit applications and they had to show they didn’t work they did that through showing they got job seekers benefit… the idea was that you must get money from somewhere, so if it’s not a job then where is it from…so grants? Loans? Bank statements?
posted by pairofshades at 8:30 AM on September 13

Response by poster: Just an update. I heard back from them and this is what they want: “It can be a tax assessment notice, or a proof of registration with a national employment agency, or anything else that would show us that you have no regular income”.

I have a UK NI (national insurance) number but I have never worked - I’ve only ever been in education (full and part time). I’m funded by my family/a part scholarship.